Home About UsContact UsSubmit News ISSN 2225-237 اردو خبریں

CAte d’Ivoire, Kuwait, Equatorial Guinea, Peru, Poland elected to UN Security Council

Date: June 4, 2017 Author: Web Desk Category: General Stock Exchange Announcements Short URL Comments: 0

New York (IINA) � The United Nations General Assembly on Friday elected CAte d'Ivoire, Kuwait, Equatorial Guinea, Peru and Poland as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for the next two years.

They will fill seats to be vacated by Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay on December 31. Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan and Sweden will continue as elected Council members, completing the second year of their respective terms in 2018. All new Council members will take their seats on 1 January 2018.

The five non-permanent members were elected according to the following pattern: three seats for the Group of African States and the Group of Asia-Pacific States, one for the Group of Eastern European States, and one for the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States. All the new members met the required two-third majority and were elected in the first and only round of voting, according to UN News.

Source: International Islamic News Agency